Stuffing Seafood

Leave a comment

May 19, 2010 by bethanjthomas

I wonder who first decided to stuff an animal before cooking it.  What drove them to force breadcrumbs into the orifice of a chicken, or slice open an escalope to place cheese inside it.  It was inspired, that much is true, but it is an odd thing to do.

No more so than when the animal in question is a squid and the stuffing is cheese based.

Squid stuffed with feta cheese and tomatoes

Whole squid stuffed with feta cheese and tomatoes

When I saw it on the menu of a tiny restaurant near Pylos in the Pelloponese, it had too many things that I live in it to say no.  Freshly caught squid stuffed with feta cheese and tomatoes, grilled and finished with parsley and lemon.

When I cut it into tiny rings of calamari with the plump tomatoes and salty cheese inside, I knew I’d picked well.   The lemon finished it nicely and although I would never have picked parsley, it didn’t distract from the clear crisp flavours of the fresh ingredients.

I can only hope to know who first decided to stuff a squid though.  It was a brave choice that I’m happy they made.

Leave a Reply

The Photos

The Old Boys

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 5 other followers

